Missions

The Specialized Scientific Committees (CSS) support the Chairman and CEO of the Institute and contribute to the periodic evaluation of the work of the research unit relating to their field, in consideration of the missions communicated to the High Council for the Evaluation of Research and Higher Education (HCERES), the French research evaluation body.

As part of recruitment competitions for research heads and directors, the Commissions form a preliminary selection board, select applications and place them in order of merit. They also manage the researcher activity evaluation process and requests for promotion.

The CSS are further consulted regarding:

  • the creation, modification, or closure of Institute research units
  • the nomination of research unit heads, the renewal of their contracts, or the decision to end them
  • the financial contribution to be provided, as part of Institute programs, to scientific training projects or research groups that do not belong to the Institute

For more information

Composition

The CSS are created by the Management Board following consultation with the Scientific Advisory Board. They include members elected by the five colleges representing Institute staff, as well as those who contribute to its work, and members appointed by the Chairman and CEO of the Institute. He decides how they are run and how they will elect their elected members.

CSS 1:Living Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms

CSS 2:Developmental Disorders, Hematology, and Cancer

CSS 3:Large System Physiology and Physiopathology

CSS 4:Neuroscience

CSS 5:Immunity and Infection

CSS 6:Public Health and Health Technology

Missions

Les Commissions scientifiques spécialisées (CSS) assistent le Président-directeur général de l’Institut et concourent à l’évaluation périodique de l’activité des unités de recherche qui relèvent de leur domaine, dans le respect des missions imparties au Haut conseil de l’évaluation de la recherche et de l’enseignement supérieur (HCERES).

Dans le cadre du concours de recrutement de chargés de recherche et de directeurs de recherche, les Commissions, constituées en jury d’admissibilité, sélectionnent les candidatures et les classent selon leur mérite. Elles assurent également l’évaluation de l’activité des chercheurs et de leurs demandes de promotion.

Les CSS sont en outre notamment consultées sur :

  • la création, modification ou suppression des unités de recherche de l’Institut 
  • la nomination des directeurs des unités de recherche, le renouvellement de leurs fonctions ou la décision d’y mettre fin 
  • la participation financière à apporter, dans le cadre des programmes de l’Institut, aux projets scientifiques des formations ou des équipes n’appartenant pas à l’Institut

Pour en savoir plus

Composition

Les CSS sont créées par délibération du Conseil d’administration après avis du Conseil scientifique. Elles comprennent des membres élus par les cinq collèges représentant les personnels de l’Institut, ainsi que ceux qui contribuent à son activité, et des membres nommés par le Président-directeur général de l’Institut. Ce dernier fixe les règles de leur fonctionnement et les modalités d’élection de leurs membres élus.

Voir la composition des CSS

Télécharger