Ethics Evaluation Committee (CEEI/IRB)

The mission of the Inserm Ethics Evaluation Committee (CEEI) is to provide its opinion on research projects that directly or indirectly involve humans in the biological and medical area (health research), but also in social sciences and humanities. Through its procedures, the CEEI supports investigators to make ethical consideration an integral part of the scientific approach.

The Inserm Ethics Evaluation Committee (CEEI) is a research ethics committee (REC) as defined by the Council of Europe. The CEEI is registered with the Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) of the United States Department of Health, and is therefore an Institutional Review Board (IRB00003888).

The CEEI is attached for administrative purposes to the Inserm Directorate General, but its organization and decisions are entirely independent.


The CEEI is a multidisciplinary committee whose members are appointed by decision of the Chairman and CEO of Inserm. These include members with health expertise, members with social sciences and humanities expertise, a methodologist, a legal expert with expertise in clinical research, and a patient association representative. One of the members of the CEEI chairs the committee.

  • Christine Dosquet (president), hematologist (AP-HP and Inserm unit 1131)
  • Philippe Amiel, health sociologist and lawyer (Inserm unit 1123)
  • Bruno Clément, biologist (director of Inserm unit 991)
  • Agnès Dumas, sociologist, Inserm unit 1123
  • Marie Moreau, clinical research associate (Hematology, CHU de Grenoble)
  • Marie-Christine de la Morlais, Alliance maladies rares
  • Marie Préau, professor in health social psychology (Lyon 2)
  • Nathalie Rocher, physician and researcher (Inserm unit 1091)
  • Perrine Roux, public health researcher (Inserm unit 912)
  • Raphaël Porcher, biostatistician (Inserm unit 1153)
  • Isabelle Sermet-Gaudelus, doctor, cystic fibrosis reference center (APHP and Inserm unit 1151)
  • Michèle Souyri, researcher, Inserm unit 1131
  • Émilie Bujeaud, Inserm, secretary of Inserm CEEI/IRB)