Chairman: Pascal Griset

Pascal Griset © Inserm/Guénet, François

Created in January 2017, the Inserm History Committee reports directly to the Chairman and CEO of the Institute. Its creation partly reflects the move in recent decades to rebuild, preserve, and demonstrate the value of Inserm’s heritage, but was also part of the celebrations marking the organization’s 50th birthday in 2014.

Missions

One of the committee’s highest priorities is to promote and lead studies into the history of Inserm and biological, medical, and French health-care research in its national and international context, in order to make apparent Inserm’s role within the French research system.

The committee is also involved in contributing to the Inserm history site, and promotes or organizes, in conjunction with university, scientific, cultural, and socioeconomic bodies, seminars, symposia, round tables and other events concerning the history of Inserm and, more widely, the history of medical research and health care. Finally, the committee aims to bring together organizations working in related and/or complementary fields, and to develop partner projects with them.

Composition

The committee members are appointed by the Chairman and CEO of Inserm for a period of 4 years, which may be renewed:

  • Pascal Griset (chair), professor at the Université Paris-Sorbonne, co-author of the work "Au Cœur du Vivant" published on Inserm’s fiftieth anniversary, and a specialist on the history of innovation and major scientific institutions.
  • Four individuals who have contributed through their work to the development and excellence of Inserm: Yves Agid, Martine Bungener, Pierre Corvol, and André Syrota
  • Four individuals with expertise in Inserm/science and society issues: Florence Hachez-Leroy, Jean-Paul Gaudillière, Muriel Le Roux, and Cécile Meadel

Full members:

  • Thierry Damerval, deputy director-general of Inserm
  • Carine Delrieu, director of the Department of Scientific Information and Communication at Inserm
  • Suzy Mouchet, manager of the Inserm history website
  • Hélène Chambefort, manager of the Inserm archives
  • Dominique Donnet-Kamel, former head of the Patient Associations team, closely involved in science/society relations
Création du Comité pour l'histoire de l'Inserm © Inserm/Heidinger, Jean-Marie

Président : Pascal Griset

Pascal Griset © Inserm/Guénet, François

Crée en janvier 2017, le Comité pour l’histoire de l’Inserm est directement placé auprès du Président-directeur général de l’institut. Cette création s’inscrit dans les actions conduites ces dernières décennies pour reconstituer, préserver et valoriser le patrimoine de l’Inserm, mais également dans la continuité des événements qui ont jalonné le 50e anniversaire de l’établissement en 2014.

Missions

Un des objectifs prioritaires du Comité consiste à favoriser et mener des travaux sur l’histoire de l’Inserm et de la recherche biologique, médicale et en santé française dans son contexte national et international, afin de rendre visible l’action de l’Inserm au sein du système français de recherche.

Le comité participe également à l’enrichissement du site histoire de l’Inserm, assure la promotion ou organise, en relation avec les milieux universitaires, scientifiques, culturels et socio-économiques, des séminaires, colloques, tables rondes et toutes autres manifestations touchant à l’histoire de l’Inserm et, plus largement, à l’histoire de la recherche médicale et en santé. Enfin ce comité a pour ambition d’assurer le lien avec les institutions travaillant sur ces champs proches et/ou complémentaires ; concevoir avec ceux-ci des projets de partenariats.

Composition

Les membres du comité sont nommés par le Président-directeur général de l’Inserm pour une durée de 4 ans, renouvelable :

  • Pascal Griset (président), professeur à l’Université Paris-Sorbonne, co-auteur de l’ouvrage « Au cœur du vivant » rédigé à l’occasion du cinquantenaire de l’Inserm et spécialiste de l’histoire de l’innovation et des grandes institutions scientifiques
  • 4 personnalités ayant contribué par leur action au développement et à l’excellence de l’Inserm : Yves Agid, Martine Bungener, Pierre Corvol, André Syrota
  • 4 personnalités, spécialistes des enjeux sciences et société/Inserm : Florence Hachez-Leroy, Jean-Paul Gaudillière, Muriel Le Roux, Cécile Meadel

Membres de droit :

  • Claire Giry, directrice générale déléguée de l’Inserm
  • Carine Delrieu, directrice du Département de l’Information scientifique et de la communication de l’Inserm
  • Suzy Mouchet, responsable du site histoire de l’Inserm
  • Hélène Chambefort, responsable des archives de l’Inserm
  • Dominique Donnet-Kamel, ex-responsable de la Mission Associations de malades, très impliquée dans les relations Sciences/Société
Création du Comité pour l'histoire de l'Inserm © Inserm/Heidinger, Jean-Marie